MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING of the Town of Wembley, in the Province of Alberta held in the Wembley Municipal Office this 23rd day of October 2023

PRESENT: Mayor Peterson

Councillor Berlasty Councillor Underwood Councillor Johnson Councillor Baker (Zoom) Councillor Skinner

CAO Zhang

REGRETS: Councillor Ketchum

1. CALL-TO-ORDER

The Organizational Meeting was called to order at 6:34 p.m. by Mayor Peterson.

2. COUNCIL COVENANT - BANKING

MOTION #2023-0226

Moved by Councillor Underwood Council direct Administration to continue with ATB Financial as the Town's financial institution.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. AUDITORS

MOTION #2023-0227

Moved by Councillor Skinner Council direct Administration to continue with Fletcher Mudryk LLP, Chartered Professional Accountant firm, as the Town's auditors.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. **COUNCIL RENUMERATION**

Discussion centered on the daily subsistence amounts.

MOTION #2023-0228

Moved by Councillor Skinner Council direct Administration to research other municipalities policy regarding daily subsistence amounts and bring back to next Council meeting.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. MUNICIPAL OFFICE

MOTION #2023-0229

Moved by Councillor Berlasty Council direct Administration to continue to use the current Municipal Office location of 9940 – 101 Street, Wembley, Alberta.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Initials	

• Alberta Healthy Communities Committee

- o Councillor Ketchum
- Councillor Underwood

• Audit Committee

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Skinner
- Councillor Underwood
- CAO Zhang

Community & Protective Services Committee

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Berlasty
- CAO Zhang (Chair)

Community Futures

Councillor Berlasty

• Economic Development Advisory Committee

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Ketchum

FCSS Advisory Board

- Councillor Ketchum
- Councillor Skinner

• Grande Prairie Regional Emergency Partnership

CAO Zhang

• Grande Prairie Regional Emergency Partnership Committee

Councillor Johnson

• Grande Prairie Regional Tourism

- Councillor Ketchum
- CAO Zhang (alternate)

Grande Spirit Foundation

Councillor Skinner

HR Committee

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Berlasty
- Councillor Ketchum

• Helen E. Taylor Advisory School Council

o Councillor Underwood

ICF & IDP Steering Committee

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Berlasty
- Councillor Skinner

• Joint Grande Prairie Area Recreation Committee

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Underwood
- C. Ketchum, Community Services Director

• Northern Alberta Elected Leaders

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Ketchum (alternate)

Initials				

Parks and Recreation

- Mayor Peterson
- Councillor Underwood

- Peace Airshed Zone Association (PAZA)
 - Councillor Berlasty
- Peace Library System Board
 - Councillor Underwood
- Regional Landfill
 - o CAO Zhang
 - Mayor Peterson (Alternate)
- South Peace Physician Attraction & Retention Committee
 - o Councillor Underwood
 - Community Member
- Water North Coalition (WNC)
 - Councillor Baker
- Wapiti Area Synergy Group (WASP)
 - o Councillor Ketchum
 - Councillor Skinner (Alternate)
- Wembley and District Agricultural Society
 - Councillor Berlasty
 - Councillor Skinner
- Wembley-Dimsdale-Saskatoon Lake Recreation Board
 - Councillor Underwood
- Wembley Elementary School Advisory Council
 - o Councillor Ketchum
- Wembley Public Library
 - o Councillor Baker
 - Councillor Ketchum
- 911 and Emergency Services
 - District Fire Chief Smith

MOTION #2023-0230

Moved by Councillor Johnson Council approve the Mayor's recommendations for appointment of Council members to Committees, as presented.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

10. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION #2023-0231

Moved by Councillor Johnson the meeting be adjourned at 6:56 p.m.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

(SIGNED)	(SIGNED)
Mayor – Kelly Peterson	CAO – Noreen Zhang